FAYETTEVILLE — The bad news is that the Harrison Lady Goblins gave up two goals in a soccer game for the first time since the first week of the season.

The good news is that the Harrison Lady Goblins are state champions.

Monday afternoon the Lady Goblins defeated Pulaski Academy, 5-2, in the Class 4A State Soccer Tournament held in Fayetteville at the University of Arkansas.

The Lady Goblins scored three goals in the second half to secure the win.

The first goal in the last half came from senior Claire Doshier. She was 30 yards out and was attempting to center the ball. However, the ball found the net for a Harrison 3-1 lead.

That score came with 28:01 left in the game.

Nine minutes later Kenzie Parker won a ball and took two dribbles before handing it off to Pall.

Pall took two dribbles and took a 30-yard shot. It found the net for a Lady Goblin 4-1 lead.

Harrison pressured for another goal within a minute.

The Lady Goblins were awarded a corner kick. Brylie Parker put the ball into play in front of the goal.

Sydney Shrum put the ball into the goal. It gave the Lady Goblins their largest lead of the night at 5-1.

Harrison took an 1-0 lead at the 26:08 mark of the game.

Pulaski Academy kicked the ball giving the Lady Goblins a throw in. Shrum took the throw and hit Pall with a short pass.

The Lady Bruins played back allowing Pall to give the ball back to Shrum. She lofted the ball easily over the PA defense and keeper.

Harrison made it a 2-0 contest on a free kick by Brylie Parker with 13:30 left in the first half.

With 6:30 left in the opening period, Pulaski Academy scored on a wind aided corner kick.

This is the seventh state title for Harrison. This year's graduating class has won three of those.

Shrum was named as the tournament's Most Outstanding Player.

Harrison finished the season with a 25-3-1 record.

Team members include: Makayla Campbell; Olivia Pall; Katie Fowler; Brylie Parker; Brynn Oleson; Makensie Gage; Marion Groberg; Kenzie Parker; Mattie Richardson; Sydney Shrum; Kaitlyn Pratt; Kaitlyn Bridges; Shaylee Cagle; Maggie Salmon; Nina Krone; Claire Doshier; Tenelle Tate; Grace Martin; Sarah Eddings; Kylie Anderson; Riley Richardson; Brooke Boyd; Justice Ford; Elise Bell and Natalia Lopez. The team is coach by Chris Pratt, head coach, and Devin Boswell. The managers are Ella Rush and Grace Brandt.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.