NORTH LITTLE ROCK — Fourteen fewer students and eight more students resulted in two Heart of the Ozarks schools changing classifications.

With the reclassification numbers released by the Arkansas Activities Association, Marshall will move from Class 3A in all sports, except football, to Class 2A. Alpena will move up to Class 2A from Class 1A.

These changes will take place during the 2020-2022 season.

Berryville will remain in the 4A-1 for football and all other sports. In football, the Bobcats will be joined by Elkins, Gentry, Gravette, Green Forest, Huntsville, Prairie Grove and Shiloh Christian. The league is adding Huntsville and Elkins to its football lineup while dropping Lincoln and Pea Ridge.

In other sports, Berryville will be in the same conference.

Green Forest will be a split conference with Farmington; Gentry; Gravette; Harrison; Huntsville; Pea Ridge; Prairie Grove; and Shiloh Christian.

Green Forest will be a two classification school. The Tigers will play in the 4A-1 in football, but the school will be in Class 3A-1 for other sports. They will be joined with Bergman; Elkins; Greenland; Haas Hall-Fayetteville; Lincoln; Valley Springs; and West Fork.

Valley Springs and Bergman are both seeing drastic changes in their conference alignment. The pair of Boone County schools will be the eastern schools in the new conference that stretches to West Fork and Lincoln.

Alpena’s move into Class 2A will put the Leopards and Lady Leopards into the 2A-1. The school will add another public school into what was a highly populated charter school conference. Alpena will be joined by Yellville-Summit in non-football sports. The duo will also have the Arkansas Arts Academy; Cotter; Decatur; Eureka Springs; Flippin; Haas Hall-Bentonville; and Lifeway Christian in the league.

Yellville-Summit’s football league (2A-4) will include: Bigelow; Conway Christian; Hector; Magazine; Mountainburg; Quitman; and Johnson County Westside.

After a cycle with neighboring schools being in different conferences, the local 1A schools are back together.

Bruno-Pyatt; Deer; Jasper; Kingston; Lead Hill; Mt. Judea; Omaha; St. Joe; and Western Grove will all form the 1A-1East.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.